

AGENDA ITEM: 9

NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

15 June 2015

MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY 2015/16

Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority

Purpose of Report

1 To note the appointment of members of the Authority as submitted by the constituent councils until 2017.

Background

Following the local authority elections in May 2012, constituent authorities were invited to submit their appointments to serve as representatives on the Fire and Rescue Authority for the full five year term until the next round of the local authority elections in 2017.

Information

In 2014, Conwy County Borough Council confirmed the following appointments until 2017.

Councillor Peter R Lewis (Independent)

Councillor Delyth Macrae (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Dewi J Miles (Independent)

Councillor Roger Parry (Welsh Conservative)

Councillor Adrian Tansley (Welsh Labour)

4 Flintshire County Council appointed its representatives for the fiveyear term, 2012-2017, and there has been no change in membership to date.

Flintshire (6 members)

Councillor Ian Dunbar (Labour)

Councillor Brian Dunn (Independent Alliance)

Councillor Hilary McGuill (Liberal Democrat)

Councillor Paul Shotton (Labour)

Councillor Mike Reece (Labour)

Councillor Owen Thomas (Conservative)

There has been no change to Gwynedd Council representatives since 2013/14 and therefore remains the same as 2014/15:

Gwynedd (5 members)

Councillor Chris Hughes (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor William Roy Owen (Independent)

Councillor W Tudor Owen (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Gethin Glyn Williams (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Robert Wright (Llais Gwynedd)

There has been no change to Denbighshire County Council representatives since 2013/14 and therefore remains the same as 2014/15:

Denbighshire (4 members)

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Richard Davies (Independent)

Councillor Peter Owen (Conservative)

Councillor David Simmons (Labour)

During 2014/15, there were changes to Wrexham County Borough Council's representation. Cllr Robert J Dutton and Cllr David Taylor replaced Cllr David Kelly and Cllr Arfon Jones. Wrexham's membership is now as follows:

Wrexham (5 members)

Councillor Anne Evans (Labour)

Councillor Geoff Lowe (Independent)

Councillor J Rodney Skelland (Conservative)

Councillor Robert J Dutton (Independent)

Councillor David Taylor (Independent)

In 2014, Anglesey County Council's representation changed with Cllr Richard Owain Jones replacing Cllr Jeffrey M Evans on the Authority, and its membership is now as follows:

Anglesey (3 members)
Councillor Lewis W Davies (Plaid Cymru)
Councillor Jim Evans (Independent)
Councillor Richard Owain Jones (Independent)

Recommendation

9 To note the membership of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority as notified by the constituent councils for the terms listed above.