

**AGENDA ITEM: 7** 

# NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

17 June 2013

#### MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

## **Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority**

## **Purpose of Report**

To note the appointment of members of the Authority as submitted by the constituent councils for the 2013/14 municipal year or for the full Authority term from 2012 to 2017.

## **Background**

2 Following the local authority elections in May 2012, constituent authorities were invited to submit their appointments to serve as representatives on the Fire and Rescue Authority for the full five year term until the next round of the local authority elections in 2017.

#### **Information**

Conwy County Borough Council reviews its membership on the Authority on an annual basis. The council has appointed the same representatives for the 2013/14 municipal year. They are:

Councillor Peter R Lewis MBE (Independent) Councillor Delyth MacRae (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Dewi J Miles (Independent) Councillor Roger Parry (Welsh Conservative) Councillor Adrian Tansley (Welsh Labour) The following councils have appointed their representatives for the five-year term, 2012-2017, subject to any changes to the political balances during the term.

## **Flintshire** (6 members)

Councillor Ian Dunbar (Labour)

Councillor Brian Dunn (Independent Alliance)

Councillor Hilary McGuill (Liberal Democrat)

Councillor Paul Shotton (Labour)

Councillor Mike Reece (Labour)

Councillor Owen Thomas (Conservative)

## **Gwynedd** (5 members)

Councillor Chris Hughes (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor John Brynmor Hughes (Llais Gwynedd)

Councillor Linda Ann Wyn Jones (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor William Roy Owen (Independent)

Councillor W Tudor Owen (Plaid Cymru)

## **Wrexham** (5 members)

Councillor Anne Evans (Labour)

Councillor Arfon Jones (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Geoff Lowe (Labour)

Councillor Paul H Pemberton (Independent - Democratic Independent) Councillor J Rodney Skelland (Conservative)

Denbighshire County Council also appointed its representatives for the five year term, however, during the 2012-13 year there were changes to the membership. Cllr Richard Davies replaced Cllr Alice Jones on 29<sup>th</sup> January 2013 and Cllr Carys Guy-Davies resigned in May 2013. Therefore the membership for 2013-2017 is as follows:

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Richard Davies (Independent)

Councillor Peter Owen (Conservative)

Councillor Paul Penlington (Labour)

6 Following Anglesey County Council's election in May 2013, the following were appointed to represent the Council on the Authority for the term 2013-2017:

**Anglesey** (3 members) Councillor Lewis W Davies (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Jeffrey M Evans (Labour) Councillor Jim Evans (Independent)

### Recommendation

7 To note the membership of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority as notified by the constituent councils for the terms listed above.