NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority held on Monday 18th June 2012 at Council Chamber, Llangefni. Meeting commenced at 10.45am.

PRESENT

Councillor	Representing
M LI Davies	Denbighshire County Council
A I Dunbar	Flintshire County Council
B Dunn	Flintshire County Council
A Evans	Wrexham County Borough Council
J G Evans	Anglesey County Council
C L Guy-Davies	Denbighshire County Council
J B Hughes	Gwynedd Council
W I Hughes	Anglesey County Council
A Jones	Wrexham County Borough Council
A Morris Jones	Anglesey County Council
E A Jones	Denbighshire County Council
L A W Jones	Gwynedd Council
P R Lewis	Conwy County Borough Council
D A MacRae	Conwy County Borough Council
D J Miles	Conwy County Borough Council
POwen	Denbighshire County Council
W R Owen	Gwynedd Council
WIOwen	Gwynedd Council
R E Parry	Conwy County Borough Council
P H Pemberton	Wrexham County Borough Council
W P Shotton	Flintshire County Council
J R Skelland	Wrexham County Borough Council
A Tansley	Conwy County Borough Council
W O Thomas	Flintshire County Council

Also present:

S A Smith (Chief Fire Officer and Chief Executive); C P Everett (Clerk and Monitoring Officer to the Authority); K W Finch (Treasurer to the Authority); D Docx (Deputy Chief Fire Officer); P Claydon and R Simmons (Assistant Chief Fire Officers); R Fairhead (Training and Development Manager); G W Griffiths (Senior Fire Manager); Brandrick (Senior Operations Safety G Manager); S Morris (Corporate Planning Manager); T Williams (Corporate Communications Manager); C Dingle (Finance Manager); S Forrest (Accountant, Treasurer's Department, Conwy County Borough Council); A Davies (Member Liaison Officer) and S Jones (Member Liaison Assistant).

APOLOGIES

Councillor	Representing
C Hughes	Gwynedd Council
H McGuill	Flintshire County Council
M A Reece	Flintshire County Council

At the beginning of the meeting, the Clerk explained that any member wishing to be nominated for post of chair or deputy chair would be asked to give a brief description of their background and experience and what their aim would be as chair or deputy chair of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority.

- 1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR 2012/13
- 1.1 The Clerk requested nominations for the office of Authority Chair for the 2012/13 municipal year.
- 1.2 Cllr A Tansley proposed Cllr A Morris Jones and this was seconded by Cllr J Evans. No other nominations were proposed.

1.3 **RESOLVED that Councillor Aled Morris Jones be elected as Chair of North** Wales Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2012/13 municipal year.

- 2 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIR 2012/13
- 2.1 The Chair proceeded to seek nominations for the office of Authority Deputy Chair for the 2012/13 municipal year.
- 2.2 Cllr W I Hughes proposed Cllr M LI Davies and this was seconded by Cllr E A Jones.
- 2.3 Cllr J Evans proposed Cllr B Dunn and this was seconded by Cllr A Tansley.
- 2.4 Both candidates gave a brief description of their backgrounds and on being put to a secret ballot the following number of votes were cast for each candidate:

Cllr M LI Davies 14 Cllr B Dunn 10

- 2.5 **RESOLVED that Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies be elected to serve as** Deputy Chair of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2012/13 municipal year.
- 3 NOTICE OF URGENT MATTERS
- 3.1 The Chair advised that no items had been submitted to the Clerk for consideration.

- 4 MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING
- 4.1 The minutes of the Fire and Rescue Authority Annual Meeting held on 20th June 2011 were submitted for approval.
- 4.2 No matters arose from the minutes submitted.

4.3 **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes as a true and correct record of proceedings.

- 5 MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY
- 5.1 The report was presented to confirm the appointment of members of the Authority and the composition of the full Authority membership for 2012/13.

5.2 **RESOLVED to note the Authority membership for 2012/13.**

- 6 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND EXTERNAL BODIES
- 6.1 The purpose of the report was to invite the Authority to appoint membership of internal and various external committees including the Local Government Association (LGA) and the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA).

6.2 **RESOLVED:**

- (i) not to apply the principle of political balance to Committees;
- (ii) membership of committees to be as follows:

Executive Panel

A M Jones (Chair)	Anglesey
M LI Davies (Deputy Chair)	Denbighshire
W I Hughes	Anglesey
A Tansley	Conwy
P R Lewis	Conwy
E A Jones	Denbighshire
P W Owen	Denbighshire
B Dunn	Flintshire
H McGuill	Flintshire
W R Owen	Gwynedd
WIOwen	Gwynedd
A Evans	Wrexham
P Pemberton	Wrexham

Audit Committee

J G Evans	A
O A Jones	V
J R Skelland	V
To be confirmed	V
A I Dunbar	F
W P Shotton	F
M Reece	F
W O Thomas	F
D A MacRae	(
D J Miles	(
R E Parry	(
C Guy-Davies	C
L A W Jones	(
C Hughes	(
J B Hughes	(

Anglesey Wrexham Wrexham Wrexham Flintshire Flintshire Flintshire Flintshire Conwy Conwy Conwy Denbighshire Gwynedd Gwynedd Gwynedd

to appoint representatives to external bodies as set out below: (iii)

Chair Chair
Chair and Deputy Chair
Chair
Chair
Chair Chair

7 APPOINTMENTS TO STANDARDS COMMITTEE

7.1 Members were asked to appoint two Fire and Rescue Authority members to serve on the Standards Committee.

7.2 **RESOLVED** to appoint Councillors Jim Evans and Brian Dunn to serve on the Standards Committee until the next elections in 2017.

- 8 STANDING ORDERS
- 8.1 The Authority's revised Standing Orders were presented to Members for approval.
- 8.2 Cllr O A Jones asked that the final sentence of standing order 12 (1) (a) be amended to read 'These members **may** be selected by the constituent Authority and the Clerk will be notified.'

8.3 RESOLVED to approve the amendment above and note the revised Standing Orders.

9 MEETING DATES 2012/13

9.1 The report was presented to inform Members of the dates and venues for meetings in 2012/13.

9.2 **RESOLVED to note the dates as follows:**

North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority meetings

Monday 15th October 2012 - Flintshire Monday 17th December 2012 - Conwy Monday 18th March 2013 – Wrexham Monday 17th June 2013 – Denbighshire

Executive Panel meetings to be held at Fire and Rescue HQ, 2pm

Monday 16th July 2012 Monday 17th September 2012 Monday 19th November 2012 Monday 4th February 2013 Monday 13th May 2013

Audit Committee meetings to be held at Fire and Rescue HQ, 2pm

Monday 24th September 2012 Monday 28th January 2013 Monday 3rd June 2013