

**AGENDA ITEM: 7** 

# NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

18<sup>th</sup> June 2012

#### MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

### **Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority**

#### **Purpose of Report**

To note the appointment of members of the Authority as submitted by the constituent councils for the 2012/13 municipal year or for the full Authority term from 2012 to 2017.

## **Background**

2 Following the local authority elections in May 2012, constituent authorities were invited to submit their appointments to serve as representatives on the Fire and Rescue Authority for the full five year term until the next round of the local authority elections in 2017.

#### **Information**

The following council has appointed their representatives for the 2012/13 municipal year. They are:

Conwy (5 members)
Councillor Peter R Lewis MBE (Independent)
Councillor Delyth MacRae (Plaid Cymru)
Councillor Dewi J. Miles (Independent)
Councillor Roger Parry (Welsh Conservative)
Councillor Adrian Tansley (Welsh Labour)

The following councils have appointed their representatives for the five-year term, 2012-2017, subject to any changes to the political balances during the term.

#### **Flintshire** (6 members)

Councillor Ian Dunbar (Labour)

Councillor Brian Dunn (Independent Alliance)

Councillor Hilary McGuill (Liberal Democrat)

Councillor Paul Shotton (Labour)

Councillor Mike Reece (Labour)

Councillor Owen Thomas (Conservative)

## **Denbighshire** (4 members)

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Carys Guy-Davies (Labour)

Councillor Alice Jones (Independent)

Councillor Peter Owen (Conservative)

### **Gwynedd** (5 members)

Councillor Chris Hughes (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor John Brynmor Hughes (Llais Gwynedd)

Councillor Linda Ann Wyn Jones (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor W Roy Owen (Independent)

Councillor W Tudor Owen (Plaid Cymru)

# **Wrexham** (5 members)

Councillor Anne Evans (Labour)

Councillor Arfon Jones (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Paul H Pemberton (Independent - Democratic Independent)

Councillor J R Skelland (Conservative)

One Labour nomination to be confirmed

5 Anglesey County Council elections will take place in 2013 and therefore its nominations are for one municipal year.

# **Anglesey**(3 members)

Councillor Jim Evans (Original Independents)

Councillor William I Hughes (Plaid Cymru)

Councillor Aled Morris Jones (Original Independents)

## Recommendation

To note the membership of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority as notified by the constituent councils for the terms listed above.