

# AGENDA ITEM: 8

# NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

# 16 June 2014

# MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY 2014/15

### Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority

#### **Purpose of Report**

1 To note the appointment of members of the Authority as submitted by the constituent councils for the 2014/15 municipal year or for the full Authority term from 2012 to 2017.

### Background

2 Following the local authority elections in May 2012, constituent authorities were invited to submit their appointments to serve as representatives on the Fire and Rescue Authority for the full five year term until the next round of the local authority elections in 2017.

### Information

3 Until this year, Conwy County Borough Council reviewed its membership on the Authority on an annual basis. However, now it has confirmed the following appointments until 2017.

Councillor Peter R Lewis MBE (Independent) Councillor Delyth MacRae (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Dewi J Miles (Independent) Councillor Roger Parry (Welsh Conservative) Councillor Adrian Tansley (Welsh Labour) 4 The following councils have appointed their representatives for the five-year term, 2012-2017, subject to any changes to the political balances during the term.

Flintshire (6 members) Councillor Ian Dunbar (Labour) Councillor Brian Dunn (Independent Alliance) Councillor Hilary McGuill (Liberal Democrat) Councillor Paul Shotton (Labour) Councillor Mike Reece (Labour) Councillor Owen Thomas (Conservative)

5 Gwynedd Council, Denbighshire County Council and Wrexham County Borough Council appointed its representatives for the five year term, however, during the 2013-14 year there were changes to the membership.

# **Gwynedd Council**

6 Cllr Linda Wyn Jones from Gwynedd resigned in March 2014 and was replaced by Cllr Gethin Glyn Williams and Cllr Robert Wright replaced Cllr John Bryn Hughes in September 2013. Therefore its membership is now as follows:

**Gwynedd** (5 members) Councillor Chris Hughes (Plaid Cymru) Councillor William Roy Owen (Independent) Councillor W Tudor Owen (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Gethin Glyn Williams (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Robert Wright (Llais Gwynedd)

### **Denbighshire County Council**

7 Cllr Paul Penlington from Denbighshire resigned and was replaced by Cllr David Simmons in June 2014 and its membership for 2014-2017 is as follows:

#### **Denbighshire** (4 members)

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Richard Davies (Independent) Councillor Peter Owen (Conservative) Councillor David Simmons (Labour)

#### Wrexham County Borough Council

8 Cllr Paul Pemberton was appointed deputy chair of a council committee and he has therefore resigned from the Authority and his replacement will be Cllr David Kelly. Wrexham's membership for 2014-2017 is now as follows:

Wrexham (5 members) Councillor Anne Evans (Labour) Councillor Arfon Jones (Plaid Cymru) Councillor David Kelly (Independent - Democratic Independent) Councillor Geoff Lowe (Labour) Councillor J Rodney Skelland (Conservative)

9 Following Anglesey County Council's election in May 2013, the following were appointed to represent the Council on the Authority for the term 2013-2017:

**Anglesey** (3 members) Councillor Lewis W Davies (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Jeffrey M Evans (Revolutionist Group) Councillor Jim Evans (Independent)

### Recommendation

10 To note the membership of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority as notified by the constituent councils for the terms listed above.